top of page


Updated: Nov 5, 2021

Former Oconee County Sheriff

James Singleton

Release Courtesy of Sherri Iacobelli

South Carolina Department of Public Safety

COLUMBIA -- The South Carolina Law Enforcement Officers Hall of Fame held an induction ceremony today to recognize six officers for their outstanding contributions to law enforcement in South Carolina.

The first ceremony recognizing officers for meritorious achievement was held in October 2017, and since then, there have been 34 officers inducted into the SC Hall of Fame for excellence in law enforcement.

Nominees for this honor must have a proven record of excellence that is manifestly outstanding, especially to South Carolina law enforcement as a whole. They must have 25 years minimum of law enforcement service. The nominees may be nominated posthumously. The nominees cannot currently be employed by a law enforcement agency or have been employed in the past five years.

SCDPS Director Robert G. Woods, IV is chair of the SC Law Enforcement Officers Hall of Fame Advisory Committee.

“The men that we honor today have brought esteem to the law enforcement profession in South Carolina through their dedication to duty and commitment to service,” Woods said. “Their names will be permanently displayed in the South Carolina Law Enforcement Officers Hall of Fame to ensure they are rightfully honored for their service and commitment to our state.”

Representatives from law enforcement agencies and associations presented a narrative of the award winners at the ceremony.

This year’s inductees include:

Captain J. Leon Gasque, Jr.

South Carolina Law Enforcement Division (SLED)

Division Director Kenneth D. McKellar

SC Department of Corrections

Lt. Randal Ford

South Carolina Highway Patrol

Sheriff James E. Singleton

Oconee County Sheriff’s Office

Chief Harold C. Jennings

Greenville Police Department

Captain Charles T. Cabaniss

Rock Hill Police Department

158 views0 comments


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page